Indesign Files

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Indesign Files

As an agency Developer, I've been out of the whole creative business lately. Actually for years.
    Is there something that you designers now do for websites that includes Indesign? More and more that's been a thing creative agencies have been giving me lately, and you also have weird PPI settings. Is that a new norm I should know? Because it seems weird. Desktop websites are still 72 dpi btw....we can do else for other displays, but only using css and something like phone displays.

Also, only use whole pixel fonts and letting.... forget about kerning, we can't do that cross-browser.

Pretty much: WTH?
    Last edited by John G; 07-01-2017, 04:41 PM.

I hear ya, buddy.
    There is a whole lot of wrong going on out there in the design world right now. Just because you can use InDesign to create website graphics doesn't mean you should, but try telling that to the creative that knows very little about creating web graphics, but damn, they know InDesign.

It's really sad.

I deal with the opposite problem quite often. The designer who knows web design but not much about print design. RGB, no bleeds, 72ppi.... Yeah... kinda goes both ways.

Comment

We can deal a lot with web, so mainly we end up accepting the creative bits anyways. I'm so glad I never had to deal with print =p Every convo on our end pretty much ends with... "well, okayyy..." (and then muttering ... 'idiots')

I'm just used to PSD files. 1:1 pixels and all that (we do drug sites so regulatory and pixel perfect is kind of important). I've pushed back about ID files and received the reply "What?" "This is what we have". on multiple occasions, with multiple agencies so I'm sort of concerned.
      Last edited by John G; 07-02-2017, 09:23 AM.

Comment