Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Please help me to add javascript code to expand/collapse content

Hello Experts,

I want to add expand/collapse javascript code to the internal pages of my website because they are too long and doesn't look user-friendly.
    As I'm not a coder I have no idea how to do it. The biggest problem is that the site is custom written so I can't use any plugins. The best way is to apply a code which will fold the content after certain length of all pages.

I have no idea on what system the website is written but here is an example page: http://my8ballpool-hack.com/

As you can see the page is too long and doesn't look good. I will be vary happy if you can review the website and guide me on how to add this javascript code myself.

P.S.: I have the admin panel and can edit pages/posts so if you can give me some code to apply directly on the pages content that will great.

Kind Regards,
    Jeff

You already have a script on your front page that does exactly what you're describing. Why don't you just duplicate that script for your inside pages?

Anyway, below is a bare-bones script that will work. It's not fancy and it's not styled, but it provides the basics. More than that will entail lots more code.

Code:
     <p>The stuff above</p>

<script language="javascript"> 
          function toggle() {
              var ele = document.getElementById("toggleText");
              var text = document.getElementById("displayText");
              if(ele.style.display == "block") {
           ele.style.display = "none";
                  text.innerHTML = "SHOW CONTENTS";
               }
          else {
               ele.style.display = "block";
               text.innerHTML = "HIDE CONTENTS";
            }
       } 
      </script>

<a id="displayText" href="javascript:toggle();">SHOW CONTENTS</a>

<div id="toggleText" style="display: none">

<h1>Headline</h1>

<p>Whatever other content you have can go in this spot</p>

</div>