Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Copyright question - images taken from other websites

Ok I'll try and make this concise

Client is a architect. I'm the designer building his website. Two projects he wants to showcase he hasn't got personal images of, that he has taken. One of them is work he did on a famous hotel, so currently has copies of photos from that hotel's website. Other project was a private home, but now is a holiday home and is on Booking.com, with great images. Question is, can we use those images on the website, and credit them to the source? Or do we need express written permission? With the one on Booking.com, i don't know whether we need to speak to them or the owner of the property? I've looked in terms and conditions of Booking.com and the Australian Copyright Council but the answer isn't clear

Thanks !

I'm not a lawyer and not in Australia, so I can only tell you what I would do here in the U.S. I would contact both websites asking permission to use those photos and how they would like them credited. I might also need the permission of the photographer as well. The easiest solution might be to have photos taken of those structures yourself.
    Shop smart. Shop S-Mart.

Comment

< not a lawyer

This is what happens in the US. Your mileage may vary.

In the case of the home, you need to contact the homeowner. If the photos are theirs, you may need a property release as well as permission to use the photos, and the permission of the photographer if the homeowner didn't do the shots themselves. If Booking.com took the photos, then you need to contact the homeowner for a property release and permission, as well as Booking.com and maybe their photographer (depending the agreement the photog has with Booking.) If you go out and take shots of your own, you still need a property release from the homeowners. (besides, taking photos of someone's home without permission is a good way to get the police interested.)