This is a sticky topic.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Resources: Getting started in web design

As some of you may know, I'm primarily a print designer. Well, times being what they are, I know I MUST delve back into the web world. I took several classes in college; Flash, Actionscript, Dreamweaver, advanced DW, etc...but I sucked at them all. Now however, I NEED to get a few sites up as well as my portfolio online. I'm probably gonna have tons of questions for you webbies in the future, but here's a couple basic ones: I've designed my index page at 800x600, but when I preview it in the browser, I have to scroll over to see it all. I thought that size was normal screen size, what have I done wrong? Also, I'm doing my portfolio in kind of a hand drawn style using DW. I have my background all designed as a .jpg, do I have to create editable areas on top of that background in order to have text? Also, what (and I know this is asked a lot) BASIC resources would you all recommend? Ya know, like web design for dummies?
    “The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level we created them.” Albert Einstein

No offense, but you took classes in web design and you still have these basic questions.

Go to the library or book store and get a Basic DW book and start over. If you don't have this knowledge, should you be selling these services?

To directly answer your questions, I don't know why your 800x600 appears larger than the screen.

As far as the background goes, use a combo of CSS and html if you go this route you could overlay the site on top of the background you have created.

Your other option would be to slice up the image in Photoshop or Illi and optimize for web, then use tables (not recommended) but would work.

Good luck.
    all other forms of advertising that fall out of that realm, missed the short bus to design school. - d-frag

Comment