Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Argh... Should I use JPEG, GIF, Tiff or PNG in my site?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Argh... Should I use JPEG, GIF, Tiff or PNG in my site?

Two quick questions for you my little freeeends.

1. Which of the these formats (JPEG, GIFF, TIFF, or PNG) should I use on my portfolio webpage. It's graphic intensive, but not in the cluttered way, and I don't want it to take forever to load but want it to show my true colors and sharpness. So, the question is, which one offers the best size/quality ratio?

2. I'm new to webdesign and I was wondering how used PNG's are in the website world? Do most browsers read and support PNGs? Thanks so much!

Well, to answer your question as simply as possible...

If you're just posting pictures that are graphic intensive, .jpg's are the way to go. They have the best compression and look good while keeping the file size down.
    .Gif's work well too, but are better for making things like buttons and other graphics that you might want a transparent background on. .Gif's are also good if you have a file that doesn't have many colors.

Png's are good if you want a graphic that is very 'filtered', or color intensive with a transparent background.
    The problem with a .png over a .gif is that the file size will be much larger, so you should use then sparingly.

I do a majority of my web design in flash, so I always find myself using a combination of the three.
    If I have a graphic that I made in photoshop that has things like a drop shadow or other blended options, but also needs a transparent background, .png is the way to go. Sometimes I can get away with a .gif, but the edges are never what you want them to be.

Overall, there's is no best all around format to use. It's always better to find the best combination of the three to make your site the best it can be.