X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• InDesign to HTML

I've seen a couple of similar threads, but nothing that really addresses my needs.

I'm a professional graphic designer who is creating large quantities of layouts (hundreds) that are being converted into HTML for use in a web app. Currently my work process is to design my piece in InDesign, print it out, painstakingly notate all of the dimensions, font stylings, etc. on paper, pass it on to our tech team who then converts it into HTML.

Does anyone know of a way that I could try to streamline this process? Taking the time to notate every dimension on a piece of paper takes FOREVER. it just seems like a giant waste of time! our tech team doesn't have InDesign so they can't just open my file and see all of the dimensions. Suggestions on an easier way to provide this information? Is there a way I can get InDesign to export measurements? or another program?

thanks in advance

I find it interesting that you are required to provide measurements, the web isn't as precise as ID –due to the cornucopia of web browsers (with their own ways of rendering html and css), system set ups, etc.

Apart from identifying fonts, are they incapable of matching the look of your layout?

I'm sure there is probably a script out there that will print the dimensions of objects as a variable character somewhere.
    Design is not decoration.

Comment

measurements in our product are important and need to be precise; we're limiting the number of browsers we support, etc. to help combat different rendering, however the end output of our product is sometimes a printed piece (i.e. flyer) so exact measurements are needed.

they've been able to roughly match the layouts, however, the pieces don't end up with the same professional feel unless they have the exact measurements (think of a rough version completed in publisher vs. a polished design in InDesign).