Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Shooting people who don not want to be shot. Aargh.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shooting people who don not want to be shot. Aargh.

I am a designer who also does some illustration (rarely) as well as photography (often). The cool thing about illustrating is, it's just me and the canvas. Photography however, often includes other people. People who sometimes do not want to have their picture taken...

I am often asked to take photos at weddings, birthday parties and other social events. I often do it. And then regret it after. Nonetheless, I prefer candid shots of people enjoying the atmosphere and event and just having fun as opposed to structured, posed pictures. Unfortunately, whenever some people see that I'm about to take a picture, they stop what they were doing and cover their faces, which just spoils the entire shot! How can I hand over a load of pictures with people covering their faces?

So my question is, how do I take candid pictures of people enjoying themselves without them covering their faces? And how can take pics of them showing their real smiles, instead of the fake smile-for-the-camera smiles?

Um....some people have a good manner behind a camera and some people don't. If you don't have it, then you need to learn it. People need to be naturally comfortable around you to allow you to photograph them. Fake smiles means they aren't having a good time.

Go through your own photos and pick which ones you like. Then work out what kind of provocation (if any) is needed to get that shot.

One of my favourites is when I have all my friends happy, mouths open or smiling with their arms in the air. To get this shot I just call out "Wave your arms like just don't care!!!". It's a winner. Even when people were a moment ago just sitting around talking, they will suddenly put on "party mode" for the camera.