This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Photo manipulation

Hey all Just wondering how much would you charge for a decent artistic photo manipulation? I've been training photoshop for 6 years have a degree in photo design + graphic design and have been asked for work retouching/manipulation but like full on stuff like not just blemishes as in removing a model from backdrop and creating a total artificial image. For example, somebody wants the girl who has basic body paint for the lines across the body to be turned into a robot, so lots of lights added, mechanics under the skin all that sort of thing... So just wondering what to charge per photo? If anyone knows the average in industry or anything like that or if it's case by case.. I have just graduated and starting freelancer so still testing the waters with pricing. I know always varies with if you do per hour of per photo but just kinda want some opinions

Hi Paranoir and welcome to the forum. Discussion of pricing specifics is against forum rules, and it's strictly enforced, so you won't get a direct answer to this. You'll also probably be advised that you aren't ready for freelancing at this stage in your career.

Reserving all judgment; I'll say that pricing can be a sketchy proposition, and it really depends greatly on what your "market will bear." If you don't know what the specific task on your table is worth to your client, how on earth could any of us know?

You must find a way to advance-quantify the work for yourself (in hours, presumably), then multiply it by the hourly rate you'd like to make. Here, I'd add 50% just because it's so easy for this kind of work to snowball on you. Put that figure in front of the client. If it's too much for them, negotiate down from there without devaluing your services.