Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Photo Print Equivalents and Aspect Ration Question.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Photo Print Equivalents and Aspect Ration Question.

I have a newbie question. I'm rather ashamed of myself actually, as I've been a long time amateur graphic designer.

Anyway, you're help will be greatly appreciated.

I'm looking for a way to figure up photo print sizes so that when I make something a certain size I will know all the equivalent sizes I can order in that aspect ratio. I use AdoramaPix for my photo prints, so it would help to make things in a bigger size, this way I can scale down to print. Always scale down, never up, right.

Anyway, if there some time of list some where that's already made? Or is there a mathematical way to figure this out? I'm terrible at math, btw.

As dumb as it sounds, I just figured I could add an inch to either side and it would scale proportionally. Yeah, that doesn't work. lol.

The specific size I'm wondering about is 11x17, but all your basic print sizes would be helpful.

Thanks again, please don't me too hard on a newbie for asking such a silly question.

Cheers!

Is this an ad for the photo lab you mentioned?
    I didn't check their site but usually an online lab offers a certain size print, in bulk.
    Standard photo sizes depend on the machine making them.
    I could make you a whole bunch of true con-tone photo prints at any size you want on true RGB photo paper that is on 50" x 150feet rolls. I also have a vendor or two with a machine that auto-cuts the roll after printing.

Standard photo sizes used to be in the ratio of 8" x 10" or 4" x 5" or 16" x 20" but I'm not sure that is true anymore as most mini labs will also print to roll stock that is some standard width.

Your best bet is to contact the lab you mentioned and ask if there is an optimal size that works best with the paper they are using.