Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• what is the best digital camera? need your advice

Howdy folks,

First, a little background: I'm a print designer by trade, but haven't kept up with ALL of the latest and greatest technology out there. Especially when it comes to cameras.

We are needing another digital camera here for the company I work for. Our budget is $500 (possibly a tad more...). This camera should fulfill many uses, the most important of which is frequent product shots that we take. Although I'm the print designer there I am also the default photographer there, as well. I do the best with what I have and then use Photoshop to clean 'em up.

What is the best bang for the buck that I should look for? What's the highest megapixel rating out there now - 12 is it? What all features should I look at?

I really need your help and any links or whatever knowledge you can impart to me would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

hi Hal. There's quite a lot of useful info already posted here about digital cameras, and there are some very knowledgable (and brilliant) members of the forum who will no doubt point you in the right direction.

From my (an enthusiastic amateur) point of view, megapixels is only one of the important factors to consider. Almost as/just as/more important is the glass/lens at the front of the camera. And when it comes to lenses, that's waaaay above my pay grade I'm afraid.

I use a Canon (always have) and am very happy with the results.
    Want to know what a true friend is? One who walks in when the world walks out.

Comment

bear in mind that after a point, more megapixels isn't always better.

What camera do you have already?

What size prints do you normally make?

Are you looking for a point and shoot, a compact, or a DSLR - or is that less important to you than the overall budget?