Blender Coloring

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Blender Coloring

I'm a bit new to Blender in the first place (3-4 months experience) and i understand a little bit of UV unwrapping but not enough.
    I have 2 amazing character models finished in Blender and would like to add some color without unwrapping them.

I want to know if there is any free or inexpensive program that works like the vertex paint option in Blender? I think the vertex paint in blender is sloppy when it comes to fine detail and was wondering if there is a better solution to adding detailed color directly onto the 3D model? literally painting directly onto the object itself in 3D space.

Hello msaltares! Welcome to GDF!

We ask all new members to read very important links here and here. These explain the rules, how the forum runs and a few inside jokes. No, you haven't done anything wrong, we ask every new member to read them. Your first few posts will be moderated, so don't panic if they don't show up immediately. Enjoy your stay.
    Design is not decoration.

Comment

You might try Sculptris. Look up a tutorial on how to import stuff, you have to triangulate your models before they will open properly. I am no expert, and just like playing around with it for fun, but have used Sculptris to do both modeling and texture and it works quite well, so if you can get your models in there, it will likely be better than whats in blender. http://pixologic.com/sculptris/

Comment

If your model is low poly, vertex paint is very sloppy and you would have to UV unwrap and texture it.
        If your model is many verts, vertex paint is pretty good.