Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• modelling around 3d scanned object?

Hi all!

I'm very new to 3D designing, and i really hope you can help me with a situation.
    If anything is unclear, i'd be happy to provide more information.

My problem is as followed:
    I'm trying to find a way to create an object for 3d printing, with (almost)perfect 1:1 dimensions.
    For example (and i know it's early) i want to create a partial mask for halloween that fits my face almost perfectly.
    I can make 3d scans for the dimensions and modelling.

How do i go about creating this?
    Do you guys have any suggestions for software?
    How to approach the modelling?

I'm imagining i have to wrap something around an .obj and edit it from there, but i really don't know how to do this.

I tried to search for a tutorial, but i can't find the right one.
    This probably is very easy to do for a 3d pro, but for this ultra noob it's almost impossible.
    Of course i'm willing to learn a certain 3D suite.

Thanks a bunch in advance for any tips, leads, tuts etc!

cheers,
    Daan

Hi Daan and welcome to GDF.

We ask all new members to read very important links here and here. These explain the rules, how the forum runs and a few inside jokes. No, you haven't done anything wrong, we ask every new member to read them. Your first few posts will be moderated, so don't panic if they don't show up immediately. Enjoy your stay.
    Shop smart. Shop S-Mart.

Comment

You want a perfect mask?
      The way I would do it would be to cast your face they way it would be done if you were getting a hollywood prosthetic mask made.
      Then I'd make a plaster positive cast of your face.
      Then I'd take it to a 3D scanner source I have and have it scanned for 3D output.
      Then I'd work over it, creating the outer mask using a program that outputs the file-type needed for the printer (our engineering tech uses Solidworks here which I've never been able to learn.)