Need some advice - drone model processing

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need some advice - drone model processing

I am a newbie in the world of 3D model manipulation. My past experience is based on mapping / GIS (25 years). I am now using a drone to create orthophotos and 3D Models. I want to be able to manipulate a 3D model to create a proposed model of the same landform. My first project is a riverfront area last used as a wastewater treatment site with large ponds. The City I am working with wants to turn this area into a park with baseball diamonds, picnic areas, boat docks, etc. I would like to create a proposed model of the new park.

As a member of the Autodesk Development Network, I have access to 3DS Max and Maya. I am installing both now but I would like to get some advise as to which one might be better suited for my needs. Having no experience with either, I don't know where to start.

Hi Tinloes and welcome to GDF.

We ask all new members to read very important links here and here. These explain the rules, how the forum runs and a few inside jokes. No, you haven't done anything wrong, we ask every new member to read them. Your first few posts will be moderated, so don't panic if they don't show up immediately. Enjoy your stay.
    Shop smart. Shop S-Mart.

Comment

You are talking about digital 3d, right?
      Not a physical model that will sit on a table....

There are others here more qualified in Max or Maya than I am as far as usability and learning curve, but the first question might be, are you drawing out your plans in some other mapping program you are familiar with first? If so, you might want to check whether either of those two 3D programs can import and utilize basic site drawing plans.

If you are doing something that is ultimately going to be produced as a physical model, I'd talk to some who does that stuff and find out what the handoff format is. Solid Terrain Modeling is one we've used several times.

Comment