X
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which 3D software should I use Thread?

Okay everyone, we know that you want to ensure that you are making the right decision as to which 3D you wish to persue when you are presented with a number of options.

At some point, most of us have wondered - hmmmm.... Max? Maya? Lightwave? XSI? <enter names of all other apps you've heard of but have not yet used>.

It's only normal that you want to know about these apps and what they are all about. We humans are indeed an inquisitive species.

To people who really need to make decisions like this, and want to make absolutely sure that they are not going to regret their choice of app, I have a few suggestions :

- If you are a total beginner, and are deciding on a first program to start out on, try a free one! There are a number of free applications around. That way you can explore what 3D is all about without burning holes in your pockets.

- Check out the demo/learning edition of the applications. Most of the major ones have downloadable versions, or offer free discs for people who wish to learn the software. Sure, these versions are usually handicapped in some way, but it's nevertheless a great way to get a taste for the program.

- Try out all the programs that are available! It never hurts to keep your horizons broad.

Here's a few articles that may shed some light on your 3D experience.

Choosing the Best 3D Rendering Application for Your Needs (courtesy of Zaon Studios:New for 2004)</font>

Read article here

Follow up article courtesy CGtalk.com

Ok bro, I'm interested -- I know nothing about 3D software (unless you count the 3D things in Illy CS), but I'd like to... can you suggest any decent free programs for Mac OSX? Any other advice or suggestions?

A friend of mine was telling me something about learning openGL...

I would've taken over the world, but I got distracted by shiny things.

Ooo! Shiny things!