Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Linked styles, swatches, libraries - how?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Linked styles, swatches, libraries - how?

Hi! I design websites and interfaces in AI. The problem is that I want to manage one set of styles and colors over several AI files.

Of course I can just draw everything inside one AI file, but I need much more room and artboards than Illustrator provides, and I don't want to hide excessive material in layers.

So the problem is really simple but seems impossible to solve: I want character & paragraph styles, swatches, symbols and whatever to be linked to a separate AI (or other format) file. Keyword here is linked, so when I modify those linked libraries the changes of styles and colors would apply to every design that has those linked libraries.

Of course I can just write my own script, or plugin, or application... But I'm not a programmer. Does anyone know - are the solutions of such problem out there?

Thank you!

Hi Nekto and welcome to GDF.

We ask all new members to read very important links here and here. These explain the rules, how the forum runs and a few inside jokes. No, you haven't done anything wrong, we ask every new member to read them. Your first few posts will be moderated, so don't panic if they don't show up immediately. Enjoy your stay.
    Shop smart. Shop S-Mart.

Comment

https://helpx.adobe.com/creative-clo...libraries.html
      I'd rather be killed than come to your party, but if you don't invite me, I'll kill myself.

Comment

Hot Button

Nope, CC libraries won't do the trick. Using an asset from the CC Library doesn't link it to the original and doesn't allow to modify it, having the changes automatically apply to all of the asset's instances in AI documents.