Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Batch automation of hundreds of WMF's, change/replace color, then export to new WMFs?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Batch automation of hundreds of WMF's, change/replace color, then export to new WMFs?

Hello all, I'm a seasoned Graphic Designer that has used Illustrator for a long time, though I've yet to explore it's batch automation capabilities (as I have more so with Photoshop). Now that I'm presented with an opportunity to do so, I must say I'm a bit disappointed with my first stab at it, as it relates to what I would think would be a rather simple (and common) action that Illustrator would be able to easily do at such a 'mature' stage in it's existence. In fact, I'm surprised it's not a preset, out-of-the-box action by now (it's only what, version 17,18 now?). What I'm referring to, as it's been covered numerous times before I'm sure (though I still can't find a clean and working resolve) is...batch automation of recoloring files.
    First things first, does anyone know exactly why recoloring/replacing swatches in an action is never (or seemingly can't be) recorded? I get that the swatch you're trying to recolor the image to should be in the files you're trying to recolor first...but isn't that the whole point? That the likelihood of the new color you want WON'T be in the existing file, so that should've been taken into consideration in the development process of building an action to do this? In my opinion, it kind of makes the whole idea of trying to do this type of automation process counterproductive...but I'm no developer so maybe there's much more to it.
    Getting back to my specific tasks, which I'm hoping someone can shed some straightforward light on and assist with, is that I'm trying to batch automate an action...Javascript...or whatever that will simply open up hundreds of WMFs then:
    1 - select the image (one object and one color)