Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can I automate large batches of unique images to be generated?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can I automate large batches of unique images to be generated?

Im a designer for a small(ish) business and in addition to generating posters, stickers, and just about anything else my boss can think of, I also create the product previews for those listings. I work primarily in Illustrator and Photoshop.

Recently it was decided that we needed to generate additional previews of over five hundred existing posters. I am currently using four smart objects and two templates Ive heavily modified to save jpeg previews of posters in both landscape and portrait, then manually saving and labeling them (making it a workflow of about 2 minutes per poster). Soon I will be starting in on over two thousand other products. It occurred to me that there must be some way of automating larger chunks of the workload freeing me up to focus more on generating new products.So far there is no way Ive found to grab large batches of unique images, quickly process and save them in bulk without making an obscene number of layers that at least require a drag and drop & keystroke each to position and scale, not to mention the strain on the program and my computer.

Optimally, Id Like to find some program or script that can consecutively:

A: Detect the difference between landscape and portrait.
    B: Apply a preset & editable Frame overlay and background that is appropriate for the orientation.
    C: Scale the original images to fit within that frame and in front of the background.
    D: Save using an editable labeling system that gives each final image a unique name within a modifiable system (ex. ABC0005-ABC0299)

Basically: chain all the functions already available and automatically replicate the process.