Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Illustrator - Recolouring a vector remains in grayscale

Hi guys,

I'm new to Illustrator and am working on a graphic for my clothing business. I want parts of this in different colours, so I'm slicing them using the knife tool, and going from there. When I go to recolour the parts of the vector file, they remain in grayscale. I've made sure I'm working in RGB, I've changed the colour tab to RGB from grayscale on the right side colour toolbar. Nothing is working. When I go to recolour parts of the design, the colour I'm after will show up no problem as a colour preview, but when I go to apply these changes it remains in grayscale. The "recolour artwork" box is checked. I'm using Illustrator CS6.

Thanks!
    Sam

It sounds like you've run into one of my personal annoyances with Illustrator, and I have no idea why Adobe hasn't fixed this old problem. I half suspect there's some reason for it that I'm overlooking, but I sure don't know what it is. If I wanted something colored gray, I'd color it gray.

Anyway, I'm using CS6 right now, and here's how to fix the problem. I think it's the same in CC, but I can't say for sure. Click on the Window menu and select the color option. A palette will come up that, as far as I'm concerned has no purpose other than to deal with this annoyance. If this is the problem you're experiencing, the color in the palette will be grayscale. In the little hamburger menu in the palette, select one of the other options, and the problem should be fixed.

If that's not the problem you're having, well, I don't have any other solutions.

Comment

Thanks for your response! Had a break and came back to it, and I think I stumbled upon your method by messing around, and it's worked! Cheers for the help, appreciate it!

Comment

Never seen this bug before. Good one B!

Keluitry,