Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with bitmap to vector conversion

Hello all -

I just joined GDF and look forward to learning and sharing some knowledge. I am a hobbyist but have a technical background and hope someone can help me.

I have a photo in JPG format that I need to convert to a vector graphic to later produce a paint stencil with. The image is fairly simple. Correct me if I'm wrong but from what I have learned so far I first need to get the image into two colors, (preferably black and while) and then use something like the live trace feature in Illustrator to convert to vector art. The problem I have is converting the image to black and white (no greyscale) cleanly. Using paint bucket in Photoshop the image gets slightly larger despite the fact I have tolerance level turned down. Is there a better way to do this?

Of course I'd be interested to know if there's a simpler method of going from my image to vector form. Appreciate any advice you have here. Also note the area I am trying to convert to vector is only the outer text and graphics, not the clock face in the center.

Click image for larger version

Name:	287aea00.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	32.6 KB
ID:	21546

I'm going to skip the vectorizing part for a minutet and go right to the stencil part.
    Are you actually cutting a stencil like out of vellum?
    Or a vinyl paint mask?
    If the first, all of your counters have to be legged. Kinda ruins the look most times.

Live trace is garbage. Creating outlines in Photoshop, even if you get a clean BW conversion is usually even worse.
    Using Illustrator and it's tools, this is about 1 hour of work to trace, without any of the shading in the watch hands.

Comment

You don't need to rework the image before tracing.

That said, you may become even more frustrated when you encounter the result of Image Trace. the only correct way to get this into vectors is a competent manual trace with the Pen tool.