No announcement yet.

How to open a BAK file in Corel Draw 5?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to open a BAK file in Corel Draw 5?

I have been having some troubles with my Corel Draw lately. First off, I no longer have the software so unfortunately re-installing is not an option. I’m really hoping there is another way around it. First off, I saved a .cdr file as I usually do, I went to open it and it keeps telling me ERROR READING so and so file. I have tried opening the BAK file but it keeps telling me to use a specific filter. When opening a file I try clicking on "Filter Information" and says none available. I have no clue about filtering or anything else. I am pretty new with this program. I’m not sure if it matters but I also have Adobe PageMaker and QuarkXpress. Is there anyway to export the file to one of these? I really don’t want to have to buy any additional software (hopefully this won’t happen again). I have honestly tried everything I can think of including burning the file onto disc and trying to open it from there. Any help what-so-ever would be greatly appreciated!

so this is a backup file? of a .cdr file? I'm confused.
    The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level we created them. Albert Einstein

Comment

Hi Gunter and welcome to GDF.

We ask all new members to read very important links here and here. These explain the rules, how the forum runs and a few inside jokes. No, you haven't done anything wrong, we ask every new member to read them. Your first few posts will be moderated, so don't panic if they don't show up immediately. Enjoy your stay.
      Shop smart. Shop S-Mart.

Comment

This may sound stupid, but have you tried a simple shut down and restart of the computer?

Have you tried this:
        http://howto.corel.com/en/c/How_To:_...pted_CDR_Files