Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Too old to switch to the field of graphic art?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Too old to switch to the field of graphic art?

Hi everyone,

My background is in education and I am wondering how possible it is to transition to work as a graphic artist? I have taken short courses in Illustrator and Photoshop ( have the ECDL in Photoshop). I have also taken classes in makeup and art and design (aware it's not directly related). I would love to work in this area but I'm in my late thirties so have reservations about pursuing an area I may be too late to pursue...

Welcome to the forum Julesgalwayk.

Getting some official business out of the way, here are links to the forum rules and some useful information.We screen for spammers, so the first few posts from all new forum member are approved by a moderator. So, if your first posts don't show up immediately, don't be concerned.

-------------------

I hate to sound discouraging, but it's getting to the point where it's difficult to break into this field without a four-year degree in design. A few courses in graphics software isn't really enough to land a job. Unfortunately, a course on how to use a hammer doesn't make one a carpenter.

Two or three decades ago some basic production knowledge might have gotten you a beginning graphic arts job, but it's all changed. It's difficult to even get your foot in the door without multiple advanced skills, internships and that all-important degree.

As for your age, well, beginning graphic design jobs are targeted largely at people in their twenties, but I don't think your age is a deal killer. The real question, I suppose, is whether or not you want to head back to college and start over again with no guarantee that it'll work out.

Comment

• Julesgalwayk
      Julesgalwayk commented
      Editing a comment