Career advice

I’ve been working as a Digital Designer for the past 6 years. I have no relevant university degree but I studied Graphic design at college and completed an apprenticeship in Digital design which landed me my first full time role.

Since then I’ve worked predominantly doing email design and GIF animations for one of the largest retailers in the UK (this was pretty much 99% of the companies business). The agency I worked for was small with 3 designers (including myself) and one of which was part time So I had a fair bit of responsibility.

Occasionally we had the odd print job, Web banner, landing page, logos and other formats. Although all in small quantities in comparison to email design. But I have some experience across the field.

I also worked directly with one of the largest toy companies in the world to create a new template and look for their emails which included interactive tech and personalisation. - this was short lived in comparison to the work with the retailer due to covid.

Through the client I am now working at one of the largest agencies in the world but working only on that same account, still doing emails.

Here’s my problem…

I have no portfolio because all of my work has been ‘confidential’ and is hard to retrieve. I have saved some over the years but they are all for one client except I think I may an example for the second client. But 99% client 1.

I believe I’m underpaid and still only working on the same client I have been for the last 6 years

I need to move on for my own development but I am unsure in how to market myself to new employers with nothing to show them. I’m also a bit unsure what type of job I should be looking for. Because although I was doing email design for massive brands and I had a lot of responsibility there in terms of work load and even meeting clients, I don’t have a lot of experience in other formats.

Looks like you’ve painted yourself into a corner a bit.