Converting Images to Vectors

I’ve long been a beginner-intermediate user of Photoshop, but I have no experience with Illustrator. If I’m not mistaken, Illustrator is the program people use to create vector images (are there others?).

Anyway, here’s my question…

Suppose I find a tiny image of a photo of a person. Let’s say it measures just 200 pixels wide. If I enlarge this image to 1,000 pixels, it would obviously look like crap.

However, is it possible to convert tiny images to vector formats, then enlarge them, creating images that look OK?

If so, then I assume the next step is to acquire Illustrator. I’m assuming I would simply open the image in Illustrator, then follow some command to convert it to a vector image.

Thanks for any tips.

Illustrator’s “live trace” function will make any photo into a really bad paint-by-number-look piece of crap. The smaller the photo, the more crap-like it will look. If you enlarge a paint-by-number look, you get a BIGGER paint-by-number look.
From Adobe’s tutorial:

If that’s the style you’re going for, start with a really large image and play with the number of colors and snap settings (but usually the small photo is the problem that prompts this question.)

Kicking myself for not stopping to take a photo of a realtor billboard I saw some time back. Realtor obviously did not supply designer with a proper billboard-sized photo so designer decided to use live trace. Yeah, unrecognizable at billboard size. And gone the next day. Bet designer was out about $5000 for that mistake. Billboard prints ain’t cheap.

1 Like

I’d imagine you need to have at least a working understanding of vector and raster. Not knowing where you want to go will never get you there.