Social Responsibility & Graphic Design Survey! :)

Hi there!
Calling all graphic designers!!
I am a Graphic Design Student at University, currently doing an essay requiring primary research on the perspective of social responsibility from graphic designers. I would really appreciate it if you could take 5 minutes to complete my survey!
Thanks!! :))

not sure how I can add a link for you guys? Anyone able to help? :slight_smile:

The forum software doesn’t allow new members to post links — it’s an anti-spam measure. Since you’re not a spammer, I’ve bumped up your user level by a notch, so you should be able to link to your survey now.

Thank you !! Here’s the link: Social Responsibility in Graphic Design

I question your choice of survey target. This survey should be directed at clients who require graphic designers to realize their projects.

If a producer of harmful food (fattening, cancer-causing, say) contacts me, I can see only two choices: accept, or decline. I will not start a debate about social responsibilities with this potential client. Since I need to put food on the table, declining a project is socially irresponsible to my family.

“Theirs not to reason why; Theirs but to do and die.”

Many choices are more nuanced than your survey might assume.

If I work for an ad agency that takes on a client whose products or views I disagree with, do I refuse to work on it? Probably not, considering that I’d be imposing my personal views on my employer, hurting co-workers in the process, and endangering my own employment.

On the other hand, if I work as a freelancer and am contacted by that same client, I’d have a much freer hand at turning them down.

Three or four years ago, I was contacted by a white supremacist organization. Before we even got to the point of them telling me what they had in mind, I turned them down. Surprisingly, they said they understood and wished me the best. Why they called me, I haven’t a clue.