Adding Margins and bleeds to an existing TIFF File

Hi there,

I’ve just joined and this is my first post, so hope I’m in the right place to pick someone’s brains, as I’ve been learning Graphic Design on the job for a couple of years, but have no formal training.

I’ve requested a document from a client as a PDF with 10mm bleed and 5mm margin settings. They’ve supplied a TIFF and told me ‘the original design was done so you could adjust bleed margins/resize if necessary without it affecting the design’.

I’ve set up an Indesign doc with the required margin and bleed settings, created a frame the size of the doc including bleeds, and placed the TIFF into a frame and fitted it proportionally. Most oif the content is within the margins, but a small amount of text and the company logo is sitting on the outer edge of the bleed.

Am I missing something? I’m questioning my own judgement here, but this can’t be fixed from the Tiff file right? It needs to be done in the original design file? The person supplying the image advertises as a Graphic Designer, so I don’t want to send it back a 3rd time, without being sure.

TIA for any advice.

MJ

Evidence to the contrary:

Anyone who’d deliver a finished layout as TIFF either doesn’t know what they’re doing, or they’re so worried you’ll alter their work that they’d rather just trash it by rasterizing everything (assuming they even grasp that concept).

If the logo and some text are in your bleed, the original layout did not include bleed, and given the whole thing is now a raster image, there won’t be much you can do about it. Frankly it sounds like you’re the more knowledgeable operator here, so write a polite but direct email stating the file is “unacceptable because the text and logo are rasterized and in the bleed; please correct and resend in an appropriate format.”

3 Likes

Thank you so much! I really appreciate your reply, you have restored my confidence in myself.
Thank you and have a great wkend :slight_smile:

1 Like