Additive Color (RGB): Red + Blue =?

Hello everyone, I am studying about colors from a book I’ve purchased today: “Color Design Workbook” by Sean Adams. There is a 1st chapter in which introduction of colors is discussed. The text says that “when these colors overlap, other colors are produced: red and blue light form cyan…” This is where I’ve stopped reading further. Is it a mistake in the text or am I missing something? The diagram shows red and blue produces Magenta. But text is saying otherwise. :thinking:

You’re right, there’s an error in the text.

Red and blue create magenta/pink, not cyan.

Return that book and ask for either an error-free copy or a refund.

It should be green and blue light form cyan.

Was the book a self-published thing? I recently returned a book to Amazon that was full of grammar and spelling errors (not to mention some questionable factual items…)

Not sure, the book came very nicely, in a sturdy package, no damage and quality of pages/text is just perfect. The only issue I saw was the content where color names are wrong. E.g. Red+Blue=Cyan and Cyan+Magenta=Purple. Somewhere a “Warm” is spelt as “Wa”… the r and m letters were left out. I don’t know what to do. I don’t want to return the book as there are some useful information present in the book which I really adore. But my overall experience is jeopardized due to some errors.

okay, I’ve found some more errors. I am planning to return the book and order other on color theory

What’s the book’s name, so that others can avoid it.

A book with a typo or two is one thing, but when the information is incorrect, that’s another.

Edit: It was easy enough to find. It’s this book: Color Design Workbook

The book claims to be the “new, revised edition.” Usually, revised editions correct errors rather than make them. I wonder what the first edition said.

It’s Color Design Workbook - Sean Adams

Looks like we were writing at the same time. Oh, well. Thanks. :grinning: