Advice Please: Freelance Magazine Design Question

Hello- I am new to freelance design and would love some advice on how to deal with a magazine design project. I will be designing a magazine for a client. Would I provide them with some kind of initial comp to determine the style and get approval? If there are any magazine designers reading this that are willing to share their process of dealing with the client, I would be so grateful! Thank you in advance!

You will need to ask them what they want. If the publisher wants to see preliminary comps (and I can’t imagine that they won’t), you’ll need to show them your ideas. This is something that you negotiate with them — just like any other job.

I’ve been the art director for two different magazines and have designed several others. Based on that experience, here are a few questions I’d ask in no particular order. This is off the top of my head, so I’m likely missing a few. Much will depend on the nature of the magazine.

• Will you just design the initial design or will you put each issue together for them?
  • If not you, who will do it?
  • What is the demographic group the magazine is (or will be) aimed at?
  • How many pages per issue
  • Do they have examples of content? Have they really thought it through?
  • What is the ad-to-editorial ratio (this might be an approximation)
  • What kind of advertisers?
  • Will you be designing the ads?
  • Will you be modifying the ads sent in from advertisers? (Unless they’re prepared by an agency using your magazine’s rate card, they’ll be a random assortment of junk that will take many hours to fix for each issue.)
  • Does the magazine need a style guide? (Of course, it does, but they might not know it.)
  • Is this a new magazine or an established one?
  • If established, what is their current circulation and how is the magazine distributed? (If it’s through the mail using a bulk rate, there are postal regulations to consider.)