Am I a graphic designer, actually? :)

Hi everyone!
I work in a team that set up and builds websites for a very large university. Therefore, I do a lot of designing and organizing web pages. In addition, I make banner ads on Illustrator software, i’m designing to mobile devices, etc.

While working, I realized that my direction was graphic design. And I wonder, does my work actually fall under the definition of a graphic designer? Can I say that I am a graphic designer?

Also, should I take an official course just for qualification?

Thanks in advance,
Me

Well, I’d say you’re doing graphic design work. If that’s the majority of your job, I guess that counts enough to call yourself a graphic designer.

As for taking a course for qualifications. The normal credentials here in the U.S. involve a 4-year college degree, although it’s not strictly necessary since there are no actual licensing requirements — just more difficult to develop skills and land a job without one. I don’t know if taking a course or two would do much to enhance your credentials. They might, however, provide you with a few more skills.

2 Likes

As a slight caveat to what @Just-B said. It’s hard to know if you’re a “graphic designer”. You might be doing some similar work to a designer, but just because you’re doing the work, it’s hard to say if it’s “designer quality” work. I know a lot of admins that similarly do some “graphic design” tasks, but I wouldn’t call them a designer. That’s not a knock to you, you may actually be producing professional looking work … but even then, as Just-B said without a degree here in the US you might not be able to market yourself as a designer.

1 Like

thank you @Just-B
I think I will take a course. It would not be a degree but a certificate. Just to be more “supervised,” and to acquire the basic terms, etc.