An issue with a client

Guys, I could really use your advice. Here’s the deal - I am designing an eCommerce website for this client, a very cool guy by the way. It’s my first work of that kind, so I really did my homework, consulting more experienced friends and looking for tips wherever I could find them (yes, I even read about how to start your own eCommerce business, I admit and yes, I take “going the extra mile” way too seriously). Joke aside, all this actually helped and it was going great until Mrs. Client decided to get involved. And I mean really involved. (getting upset just by talking about it) Her suggestions, well not really but rather her demands would lead to the website being unnecessarily and utterly slow and looking like a complete mess. It’s like she’s read the same tips as I did and decided to go for the opposite. I presented her with the facts, but no use. I just know I’ll be getting a lot of calls once the problems start popping up. I’ve never done this before, but should I just suggest they find someone else? Accept the fact that I’ve wasted some time and just save myself from getting upset, in the near future? And it’s not just that, I can’t make myself create something I know won’t work well and get paid for it.

So the wife of your client has gotten involved?
Does she have a stake in the business?

It seems to me she makes the decisions, unfortunately. Ever since she started doing this, he mostly stood there, nodding. This is why I didn’t even try talking to him.

Do you have a contract with this client? If you know there will be problems in the future you could always charge for additional edits/revisions and simply explain, “There will be issues in the future, this is what they will be. The cost to fix these are xyz per hour, with an additional 50$ startup fee.”