Any tips for an enthusiastic beginner?

Hey everyone, I’m currently studying Print Communications, which has been challenging and rewarding as I really don’t know anything about that.
As part of my Assessment Task, I have to join a design forum, so I’ve joined here, but after reading through some of the topics being discussed, I feel that this forum is going to be a big part of my design life here on.
Just wondering if I can pick anyone’s brain on the things they wish they’d known/done when they were first starting out.
Any tips would really be gratefully accepted!
Thanks

Welcome!

I think I had a good grasp of the creative and technical side of things when I started, but I was completely ignorant about the business side of making art. I look back now and I’m completely horrified at the contracts I signed and jobs I accepted when I was younger. I wish that I had read Graphic Artists Guild Handbook of Pricing and Ethical Guidelines back then so I had a better idea of the types of business arrangements that were possible.

The first contracts were all prepared by their lawyers. One was 50 pages long. I had no idea that I could negotiate and reject clauses in the contract and add my own stipulations. So everything was in their favor. Work for hire, with pay a little above minimum wage. No overtime, medical, dental or retirement (I was in my 20s so I didn’t think any of those were a big deal… oh man). They wrote it so they outright owned everything I did, but I was responsible for all my own gear and professional liability insurance. I wasn’t even allowed to keep copies for my portfolio, which affected my ability to move up or out. It was all just devastatingly stupid of me.

It took me years before I got more savvy and learned I license my work, rather than giving it away like that. Your work has value. If you are fortunate and far sighted, it may have value for many years to come. Don’t sign away your rights.

1 Like

Wow, thanks Mojo!