Basic draw software recommendations

Can anyone recommend a basic graphics program that doesn’t cost too much?

I have been using Visio for 20+ years, but recently upgraded to Office 365 and it isn’t included. A new license costs several hundred dollars.

Visio has some great features, especially for flowcharting, but it is also quirky and there are quite a few things that are difficult or impossible to do with it.

I’ve used Irfanview and Paint. IV is mainly for viewing and Paint is, well, Paint. :upside_down_face: I also tried GIMP, but found the UI impenetrable. :crazy_face:

Here are some of the features that I’d like to have:

• Draw basic shapes.
  • Annotate photos and graphic images.
  • Support for layers.
  • Simple CAD-like drawings with dimensions.
  • Color shading and gradients.
  • Fit text to curves.
  • Support for what Visio calls a stencil – an object that is saved once, as in a library, and can then be used multiple times without having multiple copies (for large images).
  • Support for null backgrounds (png and gif).
  • An active user forum.
  • I’d like support for flowcharting, but that is not critical.

I’d like to pay up to $50, if possible, but could go to $100 or so for a really great program that is easy to use, has a great UI, and great support.

Thanks for any help

You want more than a little too much functionality for $50-100.
Even though Adobe Illustrator can do pretty much what you describe, on top of the monthly subscription fee, you’d need a plug-in for the CAD capability and that plug-in alone would cost nearly $400 (I know, I use it in my work. It’s indispensable and definitely worth the cost.)

Affinity Designer does most of what you need, except for the CAD dimensions aspect. As @PrintDriver said that can get expensive. But other than that Affinity Designer has active forums and everything else. Well, it also doesn’t have inherent flowcharting capability.