Best client-updateable design tool options?

Hello all, I’m new here, I’m a part time graphic designer, freelance, a little out of touch with what might be possible currently.

I have a new client who wants a series of well designed brochures (A4 folded to DL) but they want to print in-house, and make text changes. I’m on Mac, they will be Windows no doubt. They need to look as good as possible given that fairly big constraint.

I’m STILL using the last paid-for version of InDesign, CS6, due to it being functional, and I’m not really busy enough right now to justify full subscription. But I might jump to that as I want to get busier, and have just put up a functional website, which got me this client :slight_smile:

Anyway, in the past I might have done a Word template thing and struggled through the nastiness of that, and the restricted font choices etc. My copy of Word is also ancient so maybe it’s better now. I’ve also just now seen that InCopy is a potential thing that looks like it could work, but probably the best functionality of that is with recent releases, and the client would have to be willing to go that route, shell out for it and learn it. There are also cheaper programs out there like Affinity and probably others, maybe the client would be happy to use one of those. I have no experience with them. The web design area seems to have the client modification thing as a prominent feature, but I can’t find much evidence of that in print space. But I might have missed something.

So InDesign plus InCopy… How do people feel about that?

MS Word… have the recent versions got a bit more design friendly?

Is there some fabulous new online design tool I’ve missed out on?

Or is there a good cross platform, cheaper app that both I and the client could purchase that is viable?

Thanks for any input :slight_smile: