Best Practices For Email Campaign Creation

Hi everyone,

Hoping to get some advice on how designers are making their email campaigns? I’ve seen different methods floating around but can’t seem to find what the correct way is.

Are people really coding their own emails in HTML? From what I’ve read its quite hard to get it right, and i’m no coder!

I’ve also seen people design it in indesign/photoshop, slice it and export it all as separate images. Then drop it in to mailchimp or some other platform with drag and drop capability. Is there anything wrong with this?
How do people do this and make it responsive on mobile?

Is there another method i’ve missed?

Any help would be great, thank you

Use Mailchimp or Send in Blue etc.

You’ll need to verify your user list with them - usually with an initial 2 step verification, which will send out the emails to your email list, and ask them to verify if they want to be on the list.

Only those that respond to the mailing will be allowed to be on your mailing lists, bounces (hard/soft) etc can result in them being ex-ed off your list.

Once the users are verified, it’s very simple going forward.

I wouldn’t recommend coding your own email - the Mailchimp Send in Blue, Constant Contact, Campaign Monitor etc are all tested across various browsers/mobile devices etc. and even have special mobile device panels for tweaking content on these devices.

If you’re not a coder, then don’t code your own emails. Plus the email needs to have a View in Browser, so unless you’re going to host all your email blasts and link to them.

And you also need to have a database for unsubscribing etc.

So go with a prebuilt system like Mailchimp or the 100 others out there.

If you’re only sending to handful - then you can probably do something simple in outlook or gmail.

But if your outlook/email starts getting a lot of bounces you get blacklisted and that can take weeks to get off that list.

2 Likes