Billing

Hi, Im new to freelancing. What happens if you told the client it would take approximately 2 hours however it actually took 4 hours or more? I feel like I can only charge for what I quoted if I want them to keep using me & I want to give them a really nice product. Any one else have this happen and how did you handle it? Did you just take the hit and try and make up for it later?

thanks
Felic

Yup.

If the job goes over budget due to something a client does, Iā€™ll tell them so and then let them decide if they want to proceed.

If itā€™s my fault, Iā€™ll eat the time.

There are some jobs that take more time than anticipated and some that donā€™t take as long as expected. As time goes on, one gets better with the estimates. The goal should be getting it right while knowing that itā€™ll never be perfect. In the end, if it balances out, everything is good.

1 Like

Exactly, as Just-B says, if it is down to you, you swallow it.

Additionally, the other thing to consider; as you said, you are new to this. By definition, you are going to take a lot longer to do something than those of us whoā€™ve been doing it for years. Your client should not have to pay for your inexperience. That said, your hourly rate should be nowhere near that of someone with a few decades behind them, with all the experience and knowledge that goes with that.

Again, as Just-B said, experience will teach you how to estimate your time more accurately, Weā€™ve all been there and had the same frustrations. Part of you taking longer, is you learning the ropes. It takes time, so, as I say, you canā€™t expect your client to pick up the slack.