Brochure Design: Is Trifold Out of Vogue?

I’m starting a brochure project for a new client and we’re looking for trend news. My client “has heard” that trifold brochures are no longer the thing. As a designer, I haven’t heard such (other than brochures themselves are no longer used as much). They want a brochure. They want to mail it. Their audience isn’t the most “on trend” audience. Is there any reason we should not use a trifold?

The only time I go for trifold brochures is if the brochure has to fit in a number 10 envelope, it’s a rack brochure or it needs to fit on a display at a desk. You mentioned this was for mailing. As long as the client’s budget will cover the increase in postage, I’d go for something bigger so it will stand out more than a trifold.

I’m trying to recall the last time I received a trifold mailer. It’s rare. I receive a lot of large postcards though.

I’m not sure why it would make any difference one way or another what’s trendy in brochures. Instead, do what’s most appropriate for the job.

I’ve always avoided the standard 8.5x11" trifolds because they come across as average and commonplace, which isn’t the personality I want to communicate.

However, as @Steve_O mentioned, sometimes they need to fit in a #10 envelope or fit in standard-sized racks along with other brochures. Even then, I’ll likely give the trifold an accordion fold instead of a gatefold — just to make it different from the others.

In the absence of those considerations, I’ll opt for an odd size — for example, square or long and skinny or include unusual folds that show part of the inside or use uncommon paper stock or spot varnishes.

1 Like

I just created a trifold mailer that was sent to our employees about 3-4 months ago, but it was a self-mailer and not in an envelope. It was also 5x7 once scored and folded.