Business infrastructure

How do you manage your quotations from acceptance, through to excution and invoicing, while also maintaing a consistent customer experience throughout - do you use any special software?

Email Query/Phone Query
Respond promptly
Query if necessary

Input data into Print Logic (or various other systems)
Job number created automatically
Data sent to various printers/designers/etc. whoever needs to do work

Receive quotes back
Add my own markup/margin/delivery costs/design costs etc.

Send quote to client
Accept quote

Send artwork/design brief/whatever is needed

Follow through to approval

Issue POs

etc.

Fairly standard.

1 Like

There are subscription-based solutions out there for the type of thing you asking about. I don’t use any of them and am drawing a complete blank on the names of the more popular options. Being a self-employed designer, I have a system that I’ve developed over time that works for me. It’s a mix of custom created InDesign forms and Excel spreadsheets. My system probably wouldn’t be intuitive for someone else to pick up since it’s not completely integrated like some of the subscription-based solutions, but it works for me. As a bonus, it’s one less thing i have to subscribe to.

1 Like

Every place I’ve worked has used different systems for this sort of thing. It’s difficult to compare since every business is unique.

Larger organizations with multiple employees juggling their puzzle pieces need systems and processes that enable coherent communication and tracking. A smaller organization can get by with something less formal and more flexible.