Capitol "B" logo

Hi everyone!

Althoug I decided to post this message in the “Student” secction, I’m not really a design student.
I’m a civil engineer, therefore a cadist and I’m also a fan of logo design.

I graduated in 2015 and since then I want to draw a logo of my own, but never finished this job. So I ended with this latest sketch and I kind of liked the result.

Just to contextualize, I like I the black and thick strokes as those used back in the times of old press. I think it has some sober look and fits very well to civil engeenering plans (specially considering the older ones).

The logo itself is very simple, it’s just a capital “B” circumscribed in a ring. It’s intended to be a blend of handdraw brush letter to a machine straight line concept (as in a technical drawing). Maybe it’s too simple.

So I would feel honerd to receive some criticism from you, who are experts in the field.

Best regards.

I actually think it’s a bit too complex, I would recomend dropping the circles and just keeping the “B.”

Although I’ve worked in/around Engineering environments my whole career, I’ve never heard that term before. So just curious; did you learn that term, or invent it?

There’s no such thing as a logo that’s too simple. That said, looking at the mark and considering the application you describe, I’m more inclined to think of this as a “chop” — a monogram, applied in the same way an artist signs a painting — as opposed to the ubiquitous face of a brand.

In either case, judging it primarily on its mechanics and aesthetics, I’d say that if there is a problem to be solved, it’s the fit of the B in the ring. The two shapes are not “comfortable” together. The B is crowded at lower-left (small red circle below), and the ring’s inner highlights only make it more so. I recognize the intent of those highlights, and if it was mine, I’d experiment with moving them outward, onto the ring, cutting them in as negative “lowlights”.