Challenges as a graphic designer?

Hi, new to the forums. I’m currently a Design student and seeking to gain some insights into what it’s like to work in the field of Graphic Design - I’m wondering, for those practising as Graphic Designers currently, what do you find most challenging about your industry at the moment?

What I find most challenging, and you’re about to find out about it, is the extremely large number of student graduates who can’t find work, so they are out there “freelancing” without any clue about business or what works and what doesn’t, barely eking out a living, with very little hope for advancement. And they are fighting against the Clueless-With-Canva wannabees.
It makes me feel bad for them.

If you are going to succeed in this industry, take the long view, beyond the horizon, decide where you want to be in 20 years, and put your efforts behind that. “Doing Logos” and “Making Movie Posters” is not where the top of this industry is going. Think digital. Think interactive. Sure there are a few good clients out there in the print and branding world, but there are so few opportunities left where young designers can earn the chops to work for them, you’ll have to work extremely hard to get there.

2 Likes

It’s an industry in decline. Fewer opportunities. A lot of do-it-yourselfers. A lot of sticker shock from potential clients regarding the cost of pro design.

1 Like

The rise of Photoshoppers.

1 Like
  • It’s a saturated market.
  • Proliferation of DIY tools and cheap software has created less demand.
  • Contest and crowd sourcing sites are a race to the bottom.
  • Increasing prevalence and quality of AI.

Probably not the feedback you were hoping for, but, if one of my kids was thinking about following in my footsteps, I’d encourage them not to.

2 Likes