Chronic Illness and Career Advice Needed

Hi, I’m new here and would love to hear your thoughts on this. Ever since I was diagnosed with a chronic illness, I’ve had to shift to part-time work, and most of my jobs have been contractual. I’ve only taken those that offer health insurance, but finding part-time jobs that pay well and provide insurance has been a real challenge.

To cope, I started a small business that I can run from home, but it’s not making money yet. It’s easy to feel discouraged and like the world has let us down, especially those of us with chronic illnesses. I still have so much passion for what I do, but it feels like the job market has no place for us anymore. Initially, I was hopeful and found some resources, but they turned out to be marketing schemes.

How do you manage a chronic illness while working in the industry you love? I don’t want to change my field; I love it, I’ve worked hard for it, and I don’t want to do something else. I’m a graphic designer and have experience in various areas of the field. It’s an industry that can easily expand, but it seems to stop being accommodating when you’re no longer a full-time, healthy individual who needs to work fewer hours a week.

I’d love to hear about your experiences and any advice you might have.

1 Like

You’re looking for a part-time job that pays well and provides health insurance? Granted, I don’t know what the job market is like as I am not looking for full-time (or part-time) work, but it sounds like you’re looking for something that doesn’t exist — at least not in the design field. I believe Starbucks and Amazon offer health insurance benefits to all employees. Not in the field you’d like, but sometimes you have to make compromises, and that’s okay. Like I said, I’m not looking, so maybe I’m not aware of what’s out there. Can you work full time if you have a flex schedule? Some days in the office and some at home? Or what about a full time remote position?