College Homecoming Promotion Designs

Hello! My name is Kevin and I am currently an art student and I really interested in becoming a graphic designer. I’ve been creating flyers, posters, banners, t-shirts, etc… since high school and pretty much I can say that I have taught myself everything I know with the help of youtube videos and websites for inspiration. I am part of my college’s homecoming council as the overall designer for marketing and I wanted to share a couple of designs for feedback. Thank you in advance!

Are all of these individual things related to this homecoming?
There is no cohesion to the campaign. Nothing to give it an identity.

Hey, sorry I should have explained that better. The files that I posted are from last year and this year. The feedback I am looking for is just based on the individual files themselves. Thank you !

I’m still not sure what you’re asking. These are all very different things with no relationship to one another, either in purpose or style. I’m not even sure what some of them are meant to achieve or how they would be used. You’ve got some nice-looking work, but it’s all surface appearance. I see no strategy — just odds and ends that by themselves have no context.

You mentioned some of them being from last year. Did you design them too?

There’s really no cohesion at all, but I must say you’ve probably got graphics here that will impress college students, which is a certain level of success.

Sorry for the confusion ! These graphics aren’t all meant to be cohesive. I just uploaded some work of mine that I believed to be the strongest just to see what you think of them individually.

These two quotes point to the problem I think we’re having. Works of graphic design can’t be judged individually on aesthetics alone. Graphic design is not primarily about making thing look nice — it’s about solving practical problems where the solutions, in part, depend on visual imagery.