Community music event poster design - feedback

Hi there,
I am a student just embarking on very beginning design projects for my course. The most recent exercise was to produce a poster to promote a local music event. We were provided the following:

Brief: You have been approached by a local community group to help promote their local ‘grass-roots’ music event.
They are after a simple yet informative poster promoting the event.
They are new to organizing live music events, but they’ve told you that this is aimed at ages 18-50 yrs old who like pop music

I have put together the following but I feel something is lacking with my design. Do you think I should start over, or have you any tips?

Thanks

What colors define “Pop” music as opposed to, let’s say, “Blues” music.
Does this poster say “Pop” to you?

Drop shadows for the sake of drop shadows is simply meaningless decoration. And there is such a thing as too much distance between the top lettering and the hard-edged drop shadow. It looks like you are trying to make an extruded edge, but Illustrator is reeeeeeealllly bad at doing that.

First of all, I don’t like the assignment. But there is nothing you can do about it. A poster or flier like this should reflect the music, and saying “pop music” is way to large of a genre to be helpful.

Second, I think you have a messaging problem. Without the benefit of reading the brief, which your target market won’t have, I would assume “Garage to Greatness” is the name of the band — not a grass roots music event. When I hear “grass roots music event,” I think of a festival with a number of different bands. If that’s the case, the bands should be listed here. For example, “Garage to Greatness Featuring Dead Kennedys, Taylor Swift, and The Skatalites.”