Contract Sections explained? Releases/Indemnity, Universal Commercial Code

Hi all,

I am fairly new to freelancing and working on a contract for a custom wallpaper job. My client has asked me to explain the following sections of the contract, 9 - Releases and 11 - Universal Commercial Code. The problem is, I don’t understand these sections myself.

I used a template for the contract, which is based on AIGA sample and a GAG sample contract.

9. Releases

• The Client shall indemnify the Designer against all claims and expenses, including attorney’s fees, due to the uses for which no release was requested in writing or for uses that exceed authority granted by a release.

11. Uniform commercial code

• The above terms incorporate Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code.

Can anyone help me explain these sections to my client?

I’m new to all this as well… so maybe someone with more experience can confirm my assessment.
I believe this refers to the fact that you cannot be sued at all if the client uses the artwork or deliverable in a way other than the way in which it was release or intended to be used.

1 Like

You want to be protected in case the client gives you things to use to which they don’t have full or proper rights. Say they get a hold of a piece of art and ask you to change the colors, then they put it on a commercial product. If the original artist comes after you because your client didn’t pay them for the correct rights, you want your client to take responsibility. It wouldn’t be an issue if you were an employee, but as a freelance contractor, it might.

I think your wording is confusing. This is what I use: