Contract to Sell Designs to Clothing Line

I was recently approached by a client who would like to put several of my premade designs onto a coat for a clothing brand he is launching. I am a tattoo artist, and I’m only focusing more on other forms of design/illustration recently, so I’m pretty new to contracted agreements. The designs in question are tattoo flash, which haven’t yet been tattooed on anyone. I wonder if anyone has experience or suggestions with selling designs to clothing lines. Specifically, I’m wondering how to price them (I don’t have to bill for drawing them, since they’re already done), and how best to handle Licensing, Usage, and Copyright. I think I’ll be writing up the contract on this one.

Any advice is much appreciated!

It’s a matter of negotiation since they likely have in mind the terms they’re needing.

In the context you’ve described, it sound like we’re essentially talking about the equivalent of illustrations. Both photos and illustrations are typically sold in terms of usage rights rather than outright copyright transfer sales. For example, if I were approached by a magazine publisher for an illustration, they’re unlikely to want to buy the illustration outright. Instead, they’d likely be more interested in a one-time usage right for their publication.