Convincing clients less is more

Hey everyone! I’m brand new here, so I wasn’t sure where to post this.

So I’m primarily a logo designer and there is a frustrating issue I run into often. Clients will reject simplistic and functional logos while insisting on overly detailed and muddy designs. Some even try to just design through me, rather than letting me handle the process. I try my best to explain what makes a logo not only pleasing, but functional, and most of the time it’s crickets on their end.

My question is, how do you folks approach this situation?
Do you have a go-to argument stopper in your back pocket?

I wish. If you find one, let me know. Otherwise, I can simply reassure you that you are not alone.

2 Likes

I have this blurb on my logo design questionnaire:

Colour is an important factor in logo design. With the internet, it’s common to see logos that have cool 3D effects, animations, and other visual effects, however if your logo can’t be reduced to a simple one colour flat version for use on faxes, checks and photocopies, it’s ineffective. Please consider all the ways your company’s identity will be circulated. Once this is accomplished, we can always jazz it up later!

3 Likes

That’s pretty damn good. It seems like if you don’t nip that in the bud right away, they get a choke hold on the idea of having the Mona Lisa for a logo.

Yep, plus I also start out with a B&W version for V1 and usually don’t introduce colour until V3 or so. It can also be helpful if you send them some mock-ups with their logo on it like mugs, shirts, etc. so they can see how useless a detailed design is on promo merch.