Creating brand stories

Hi everyone, I am currently a student and I am learning about branding. What are the essential things that are needed to be included in a brand story? Any tips and resources would be greatly appreciated too!

Above all, the client’s story, above all else.

Learning to listen what the client has to say, knowing what questions to ask to get the information you need and then interpreting that in such a way that it speaks to their audience in the right tone of voice.

All sounds so simple when you say it like that.

Read Wally Olins, On Brand

Well, it sounds like you’re looking for some(one’s) list of “essential things”. But, what you should be seeking is your own formulation of items that would persuade you.

What kind of things make a brand endearing?

The relatable founder’s back story (and resulting brand vision).

1 Like

I would modify what Sprout wrote to include what he said in his second paragraph — the client’s story as it relates to the customer.

Take Levi Strauss, Harley Davidson, Coca-Cola, the British Royal Family, or Adidas. Each of these has a rich history and backstory that permeates the brand.

Their customers or followers aren’t simply buying a pair of pants or a soft drink; they’re buying a rich legacy that is meaningful to them. That legacy isn’t a recitation of the brand’s history; it’s the emotional qualities and connections associated with it.

There is no list of things that must be included in a brand’s story. Every brand is different and each has a story that is somehow relevant to its customers and adherents.

I wouldn’t take the word story too literally, either. We’re not talking about an actual story that spells out the company’s history. Instead, we’re talking about the story of how the brand is meaningful and relevant to its customers.