Creating stylized label/logo in illustrator

Hello! I am a total newb when it comes to digital graphics design and I really need help to create a logo that I am going to put on the headstock of a guitar. I have a font style I like, taken from a sugarcan, but I have no idea how to replicate it. I have looked at fonts with glyphs, special characters that look like it but whenever I download them I only get the plain font. I would be very grateful for help on how to create something like this picture! It doesn’t have to be exactly like it, just similar style!

Unfortunately, there’s no easy way to make something like this. As you’ve found out, there are similar typefaces, but combining letters together into a logo like this requires a whole lot of custom work — even when it’s based on an already existing font.

The thing you show a picture of was Pre-computerized typefaces. I’m willing to bet that was hand designed from the get-go.

Describing how to do it with machine fonts would be, pretty much, a book.
But if you can get typeface you’re looking for and you are using Illustrator:
Create outlines (Type > Create outlines)
Command + C (copy-but don’t paste yet.)

When doing the following, DON’T MOVE ANYTHING OUT OF PLACE.

With the letters still selected, Give your letter shapes a fill and a stroke so they are “fatter” than original (in your example that would be yellowish-white.)
With the letters still selected go to Object > Path > outline path.
With the whole mess still selected go to Window > Pathfinder and select Unite (Upper left box.)
With it all still selected, give it a black or greenish thin stroke as in your example. You should expand this black stroke as well in a properly constructed logo (Object Path Outline path.)