Critique of my work

Good evening all,

I am currently studying design, and as a part of my assessment, I need critiquing on a piece of my work, so any help in this regard is greatly appreciated (but also please keep in mind, I not by any means a designer yet, so I know my work may seem very amateur).

The background of this work is, that I have to create a postcard that reflects the “Colours of Australia”. I have also been recently studying colour theory, so in my attempt, I have tried to produce a natural version of the triadic colour scheme (taking blue and yellow from nature and adding red in the title). Also, the writing on the back of the card was supplied and has to be used to exact way it is written.

Please feel free to reply with any further questions and I will be more than happy to answer.

Thank you all in advance,
Jacinta HonnerAustralia1Australia2

The text was supplied exactly like that?
If so, as a designer, it would require sending a PDF to the client with the errors (politely) pointed out and a question as to whether or not they want them repaired.

• Cap A after the first period (and check you don’t have a double space after the period
  • Australian literature is… but Australian literature, art and folklore ARE…
  • no comma after “art”
  • should be “settlers’ hardships”
  • no comma after sheerers
  • spell out “and”

The other part of a designer’s job would be to research the postal regulations to find out whether or not their design will mail out. I’m not up on Australian postal regs, but in the US, that address side wouldn’t work. For machine reading, the address area has to be much lighter.

The purpose of a postcard is to mail it to a friend or family member with a message. The image makes the writing area nearly unusable. Function first, then form.

Thanks for your reply,

I was meant to spell check the writing, but completely forgot, so thank you so much for that, I’ll correct that first of all.