Culture and Heritage Brands

Hi, I am a student who is currently studying visual identity and brand experience in school. Could you recommend some books on brands targeted towards heritage and culture for reference in terms of style and look etc? Tips on heritage and culture branding would also be helpful :slight_smile:

Iā€™m not sure what you mean by Heritage and Cultural ā€œbrandingā€?
Style and look would certainly depend on what part of whose heritage or culture you are attempting to put in a box and call ā€œbranding.ā€ Seems like that would be bad form to me.
Can you elaborate?

This would probably be mentioning food and beverage brands that have some form of cultural significance in showcasing local and traditional foods of the country or museums that show historical monuments and any form of branded materials in terms of packagings, menus, store designs etc. that showcase the history behind their brand idea.

Oh, you mean like Toblerone chocolate that can no longer picture the Matterhorn on its logo due to Swiss law that something not made in Switzerland canā€™t pretend to be made in Switzerland?
That kind of thing?

Your focus is too broad. You can do a paper on just foods. Or Historical museums are a whole breed of things unto themselves (I do graphics for a lot of varied ā€˜brandsā€™ of museums.) And then there is packaging/menus/fit-outs (an Italian restaurant comes to mind) that is yet another whole field of things.
Pick one.

Something like this?

1 Like

To further perpetuate a cultural myth, is that the restaurant Marco Polo opened?

1 Like

Not proven, but entirely possible.

WooHoo27, donā€™t let us scare you away. Now that we get your topic, maybe you can narrow it down some.

Iā€™ve never run across any books on the subject, but I have some thoughts on the subject.

1. Avoid hokey or insensitive cliches ā€” especially the kind that @Eriskay mentioned.