Customers using business card design as logo

Hello everyone,

I’m a freelance graphic designer. I personalize my original design templates and create custom designs for customers. However, I’ve noticed a lot of my customers who do not have a logo will use certain elements of my template designs and more often custom designs as their logo. I include a license agreement upon releasing their files clearly stating none of the design can be used as their logo or for anything other than printing. It’s very upsetting and frustrating. I’m leaning towards not providing files at all and just offer printing my designs with me only to put an end to customers stealing my creations.

Does anyone else deal with this? If so, how do you handle it?

Thanks in advance.

Send em a bill for the additional royalties, and remind them that the art they are lifting for their logo is not proprietary. someone else may use the same art next week to advertise really awful dog food for instance.

I don’t have this problem because I don’t really concern myself with it all that much.

I rarely turn over source files to clients. On those rare occasions when I do, I just assume it’s out of my hands at that point, despite what the law or the contract says. When I design something for someone, if they want to recreate a piece of it to use for something else, well, so be it.

It’s not that don’t care. It’s just that there’s no point in getting upset about it. I take some basic precautions, but I don’t make a big deal about it because, honestly, what is there within reason to do about it in most instances? Sue them for pocket change?

There’s a lady up the street from us who is so concerned about the occasional dog pooping on her lawn that she sits out on her front porch each evening scowling at every dog walker who passes by. My dog’s never pooped on her lawn and I’d pick it up if it did. Even so, she’s yelled at me a couple of times just for good measure.