Daily Logo Challenge Critique

Hello, everyone. I am an aspiring student wanting to expand his skillset and portfolio by practicing and learning multiple types of design including logo design, product design, and motion graphics. Despite this being extremely nerve-wracking, I am willing to put myself out here taking part in online design communities for networking and getting some honest feedback. I really want to push myself forward and be the best version of myself as much as possible. While learning lessons from a design course on Udemy, I am tackling a neat 50-day prompt named The Daily Logo Challenge. This will be a WIP showcase thread to present my ideas and try to update it by working through all of 50 concepts.

For now, here is the first design from Day 1’s prompt: Rocket Ship logo.

This one is pretty straight-forward. I tried creating a diamond shaped logo out of a rocket launching from the ground.

Firstly, hi and welcome.

Well done for having the mettle to put yourself out there and face criticism. It’s not the easiest thing to do. The more you do it, though, the easier it gets – in theory – once you realise it is not personal and is objective.

All that precursors my thoughts. So here goes…

What you have presented, naturally, given that you are just starting out, has issues, but visually it is pretty competent and is better than I would expect from someone at your stage of the game, from an visual stand point. That is not meant to sound as dismissive as I know it probably does. However, From what you have presented, all that can be criticised is the aesthetics of it. As a logo, I’m afraid, it is pretty meaningless.